Mika Fowler: The Art Of The Dry Cut

Mika Fowler and Lisa Keating in Beverly Hills, California at the Kim Vo Salon inside of the Montage Hotel.With the proliferation of Blow Dry Bars popping up all around town, I get it. People need their hair blow dried and styled. They like it and they’re willing to pay for it. I am not one of them. I’m not necessarily proud of the fact that I can often be seen in public with wet hair. It’s one of my faults, I have to admit. I’ve seen pictures. It isn’t pretty. It’s a bad habit and I am ill equipped to break it. Thank you all for not sending me home when I show up with a wet head.

In my defense, my hair is thick, takes a long time to dry and tends to blow dry into a frizzy poodle do. I’m not particularly fussy about my hair. I was blessed with natural curl that I cursed and straightened when I was young. My hair has been every length from my bottom to a boy short pixie. At this stage of my life, I have learned that my greatest ally in keeping my hair looking good really only requires one thing: a fiercely good cut. Enter, Mika Fowler. Lisa Keating in Beverly Hills after her Mika Fowler hair cut.

I was scheduled to interview Deepak Chopra on camera and my previous hair cut was over grown and past the point of a needing a mere trim. I was beginning to get a little panicky. I didn’t want to talk with Dr. Chopra when all I could think about was whether or not one could reach enlightenment with a messy mop of hair! Did I mention, I don’t have much patience for frequent salon visits? I’m bad. I know, but there it is.

I was lucky enough to score an appointment with the in-demand celebrity hair stylist, Mika Fowler at Kim Vo Salon located in the Montage Hotel in Beverly Hills.. A master of precision dry-cutting, Fowler delivers unique, face flattering cuts based on the client’s bone structure. We had a brief chat and I explained that I needed a cut that requires no maintenance, gives me a little lift through the crown (I don’t look so great when my hair is flat on top), long enough to accommodate my lifelong tendency to tuck my tresses behind my ears and basically is so well cut that it doesn’t matter what I do or don’t do! Maybe not the easiest client in the world, now that I think about it. Mika Fowler

The salon is gorgeous and so is Fowler. She’s also sweet, unassuming and fiercely confident. Snip, snip, snip, a luxurious wash and I was ready to go! I have received so many compliments on my hair, I can’t even keep track. Fowler delivered a cut that is sassy, uniquely shaped to accentuate my natural curl and is keeping its shape beautifully.

Originally from Japan, Mika rose through the ranks there and continued her journey with study at the prestigious Vidal Sassoon Academy before landing at the Montage. If you expect a lot from your hair, make an appointment with Fowler and join the ranks of Hollywood A-listers (and me) who depend on her for their flawless locks. Thanks, Mika!

About encinomom

Hello Dear Reader, It is so lovely to connect with you here. Thank you for stopping by. I hope you'll find something that pleases your eye, gives you a smile or ignites an idea that fuels a dream. I'm a California born and bread Mom living in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I enjoy sharing the California Lifestyle with you, plus a thing or two I've learned here and there, along my way to this moment. Your kind words are always welcome in this space. (It's very quiet here when you don't write.) With a song and a smile, I encourage you to be your highest and best, delightful, & darling self. And I will try my darnedest to do the same. ;) xo, Lisa

Posted on January 30, 2014, in Beauty & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Deborah Caudill

    She did give you a great cut. I wish we had one like her here. My hair is thin and fine and has always been blonde until recently. I always wanted black hair like the rest of my family, but with my pale skin it would look awful. We always want what we can’t have.

  1. Pingback: Mika Fowler Hair Stylist Review

Leave a Reply

